Meet the CEM Board – Sarah Maloney

5 Questions for Sarah Maloney

 

S17

About Sarah

Sarah manages and leads creatives, from animation (3 years at Dreamworks Animation) to visual effects (Alice in Wonderland and Live Free or Die Hard) to 3D movie conversions (Clash of the Titans, Narnia and Shrek) to Health and Beauty products (at HatchBeauty.)
She is currently running Institution Post in Burbank CA finishing shows for Comedy Central, Nickelodeon and Awesomeness TV and films as well as working with up and coming independent film makers to help bring their projects to completion.

1. What is your favorite project so far?

Every project holds a special place for different reasons. SharkTale was my first big screen credit while Alice in Wonderland taught me more about the technical side of VFX than any other show. I try to take something away from every project. Drunk History is probably my current favorite because I love the format and hearing about all these crazy stories.

2. What is on your desk at work?

Green Ice Tea from Starbucks – 1 pump classic sweetener (mandatory), Schedules for every show we have in house, Pens and highlighters in every color possible.

3. What lesson did you learn the hard way?

When and how to “Lean In”. There is a balance between working with others, bringing your ideas to the table and asserting yourself and not running over other people.

4. When Sarah graduated from Scripps, is this where she pictured herself?

 I think it’s pretty close. I had thought about being a film colorist but my need for organization and scheduling got the better of me. I learned that I was better at working WITH artists than being one myself.

5. If you could have dinner with one person, real or fictional who would it be?

Shakespeare
Leave a Reply

